The Ministry

Activity areas of the Ministry of Higher Education and Research

The Ministry of Higher Education and Research (MESR) is responsible for organising, coordinating and overseeing the Luxembourg higher education landscape. Within this context, the MESR acts as the supervising ministry of the University of Luxembourg and is in charge of the accreditation of the programmes leading to a higher technician certificate (brevet de technicien supérieur) as well as of foreign higher education institutions established on the territory of the Grand Duchy and of their study programmes.

Regarding student support services, the MESR is responsible for the allocation of state financial aid for higher education as well as a number of international scholarships. It also provides an information service to students on all matters related to higher education.

The MESR is in charge of the academic and professional recognition of foreign higher education qualifications. Academic recognition is granted through the registration of the title or diploma in the register of formal higher education qualifications. Professional recognition of evidence of formal qualifications is granted to applicants in order to access a regulated profession. Concerning the latter, the MESR also ensures coordination of the Directive 2005/36/EC on the recognition of professional qualifications and acts as a national assistance centre.

In addition, the MESR defines, coordinates and implements the national public research policy.

The MESR acts as the supervising ministry of:

The MESR subsidises the Max Planck Institute in Luxembourg, is a member of GIE Luxinnovation and participates in RESTENA.

In addition, the MESR ensures the follow-up in relation to higher education and research policy at European and international level.

In the field of higher education, the MESR participates in different groups and networks, particularly in relation to the implementation of the European Union's strategic framework "Education and Training 2020", in the follow-up of the Bologna process and in international networks regarding exchange of information on foreign higher education qualifications.

In regards to research activities, the MESR represents Luxembourg in the Competitiveness Council configuration of the European Union, in various councils and committees of the European Research Area as well as in European programme committees, particularly of the EU’s Framework Programme for Research and Innovation, called Horizon 2020.

At the international level, the MESR represents Luxembourg in international organisations such as the OECD and UNESCO as well as in the High Council of the European University Institute in Florence and the intergovernmental European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL).

Last update

Le ministère

Domaines d'activités du ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche

Le ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche (MESR) est responsable de l'organisation du paysage de l'enseignement supérieur au Luxembourg. Dans ce contexte, il est le ministère de tutelle de l'Université du Luxembourg et est en charge de l'accréditation des programmes de formation menant au brevet de technicien supérieur (BTS) ainsi que des institutions d'enseignement supérieur étrangères établies sur le territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et des programmes de formation offerts par celles-ci.

En matière de vie étudiante, le MESR s'occupe de l'attribution des aides financières de l'Etat pour études supérieures ainsi que de certaines bourses internationales. Il assure par ailleurs un service d'information aux étudiants pour toutes les questions relatives aux études supérieures.

Le MESR est en charge de la reconnaissance académique et professionnelle des titres de formation étrangers relevant de l'enseignement supérieur. La reconnaissance académique est matérialisée par l'inscription du titre ou du diplôme concerné au registre des titres de formation, section de l'enseignement supérieur. La reconnaissance professionnelle d'un titre de formation est accordée en vue de l'accès à une profession réglementée. Dans ce dernier domaine, le MESR assure en outre la coordination concernant la directive 2005/36/CE relative à la reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles et fait figure de centre d'assistance national.

Par ailleurs, le MESR définit, coordonne et met en œuvre la politique nationale de recherche publique.  

Le MESR agit en tant que ministère de tutelle du:

Le MESR subventionne la fondation de l'Institut Max Planck Luxembourg, il est membre du GIE Luxinnovation, et il participe à la Fondation RESTENA.

En outre, le MESR assure le suivi en relation avec la politique d'enseignement supérieur et de recherche au niveau européen et international.

Ainsi, dans le domaine de l'enseignement supérieur, il participe à différents groupes et réseaux, notamment en relation avec la mise en œuvre du cadre stratégique de l'Union européenne "Education et formation 2020", avec le suivi du processus de Bologne et avec la reconnaissance académique des qualifications étrangères relevant de l'enseignement supérieur.

Le MESR représente le Luxembourg dans le Conseil "Compétitivité" de l'Union européenne, dans différents conseils et comités de l'Espace européen de la Recherche ainsi que dans des comités de programmes européens, notamment du programme-cadre de recherche et de développement de l'UE, appelé Horizon 2020.

Au niveau international, le MESR siège dans des organisations internationales telles que l'OCDE et l'UNESCO. Il représente en outre le Luxembourg au sein du Haut Conseil de l'Institut universitaire européen de Florence ainsi qu'à l'organisation intergouvernementale "Laboratoire Européen de Biologie Moléculaire".

Dernière mise à jour